All new – maybe

I must be crazy. Starting this new blog now after I decided last month to finally take classes in Arabic. Fact is, I have been here since four years. I can read vocalized texts, with non-vocalized I try a guess, I understand some, mostly single words or everyday conversation. I CANNOT reply in more than one-word-sentences, and this has been annoying me from the first.
Most people seemed to expect that I should learn the language just from living here. Two reasons why that did not work out: I was always quite good at learning languages, but never, never just from hearing it spoken. Without book, grammar and some explanation I just cannot make it. Second reason: the persons to whom I speak most talk English with me, and no one has time or nerve to teach (and I know that this is hard to impossible within the family).
So, now, as I saw the chance to get into a decent school, I had myself admitted for the summer course. Starting at 9th June I will attend classes five days a week from 9 am to 1 pm and then come home to study some more, as I was told. I am rather excited. InshaAllah this will work out.
Still, I am apprehensive: the summer course runs for two months, meaning, nearly all of Ramadan. That will be hard on me this year, I am afraid. On the other hand, I did not want to wait until the next trimester starts in October, especially as the shorter summer course is much cheaper and I just wanted to give the place and their teaching methods a try. If I cannot manage or do not like it, it will not be such a big loss. But I do not know if I will make it ….

Thinking about it, I have some hopes – meeting other people, hearing new things and, if all goes well, have better means for communication. I might write about my schooldays here, too.
Tomorrow starts with an entry test to find out, which level I will have to start at.

Leave a Reply

